Win a set of JULY suitcases worth $1,425! T&Cs apply
 

Independent customer reviews

See what our customers have been saying on Compare Travel Insurance.

1Cover NZ Rated 8.6 out of 1269 reviews

Claims experience
0.0/10
Value for money
0.0/10
Customer service
0.0/10

Excellent

To be honest I was completely blown away by how good these guys were to deal with and how the got my families claim sorted, it was related to two delayed flights coming home, both due to fog in Norfolk Island and then our domestic flight to New Plymouth due to fog. This delay resulted in us having an extra 4 days of unexpected accomodation/food/travel costs they covered

Generous Claim Assessment

After our flight was cancelled we claimed expenses until rescheduled flight departed. 1Cover had a simple claim process and generous payment.

Wonderful customer service...

The service was great. Fast and clear communication and very professional. Shout out to Libby who was awesome. So reassuring when customer service across the airline industry is at an all time low.

Very disappointed with my ...

I travel often and the travel company I usually use was done through my previous employment and the one time I did use them for a claim it was a seamless efficient experience to the one I had with 1cover.

The application is misleading as I thought the comprehensive cover included vehicle rental excess $5000 as it states on the application which I was told over the phone, no that is additionally.
This was then declined and there was no goodwill with the misunderstanding that it didn’t cover car rental as that’s the main reason why I got comprehensive cover as we planned to hire a van for three weeks in America.

The back and forth of documents which were already sent. The process time nearly a month to approve and now another 15days to process to my account.

After this experience I will revert back to my previous insurance company as they treat there customers better and have a longer relationship with them.

Fast refund for cancellati...

Things changed and we needed to cancel our policy and we were given a full refund. Bonnie on customer chat did a swift and efficient job, so much so that I shall choose this company right away when buying future insurance policies when we have new plans formulated. Easy to deal with companies like this really make a big difference in this hectic day and age. Very pleased.

Cancelled Covid Credit

Overseas trip to Europe was cancelled due to Covid - 1Cover kindly provided a credit note which was extended to 18 months to allow it to be used this year. The process was handled professionally and communication was excellent throughout. Well done.

good service

The request for accountability was simple to follow, and our claim was efficiently sorted for us. It only took a few days.

Smooth experience

I took the Domestic travel insurance cover (within NZ) and process to get the cover was very easy and straight forward. It was a peace of mind.
Unfortunately I had incident which required insurance claim. The claim process was also very easy and clear. Got my claim approved in couple of days. It was a breeze. I woupd definitely recommend getting 1cover insurance cover for my future travels. Thanks heaps.

Relatively ok value

Supplied medical histpory, you doubled cost for a condition the MOH does't even acknowledge with a medical code - outrageous!

Claim because of untimely ...

Claim took a very long time. It was terribly frustrating not to be able to talk to a real person !!
And then we are told a credit into my Bank account will take 15 business days !!! This is 2020 - banks can process payments overnight !!!!

Wonderful, supportive and ...

All the representatives of 1Cover that have provided assistance and support with my situation and claim have been a sincere pleasure to work with. Communication and support has been clear, reassuring and supportive.
1Cover have exceeded all my expectations with 5-star service and an exceptional level of care.
Knowing that being on opposite sides of the world and having such great support gives peace of mind.

Great value for money and ...

Purchased a ticket for the family on August 2019. We were able to fly on January 2020 but couldn't use our return ticket via Hong Kong on February 2020 due to travel ban related to Covid-19 so we purchased another ticket via South Korea. The airline returned a portion of our unused ticket and 1Cover approved our claim for the new ticket which is about NZ$3000.

Wish I could do minus

Worst company with the worst business practice. A lot of other companies covered for the Covid 19 but not 1cover. Spent months trying to contact them. Stay away from this company

No past problems with clai...

I have no complaints re service, having used 1COVER comprehensive insurance regularly over the last 7+ years.I recall only 1 small Rental car damage claim which was promptly dealt with.
We booked a trip last September and took out our policy.Since then because of the small print, we have written off the accommodation and other costs we have not been able to recover ourselves.However I am disappointed that 1COVER has not seen fit to at least offer a part refund on the insurance policy involved.It is accepted there are costs in writing the policy but everyone is taking a hit!

Always use 1 Cover when tr...

Easy to use, good pricing and was good to deal with a claim. Why wouldn't you get 1 cover?!

Check your policy!!

We purchased a fully comprehensive policy in October 2019 for a 5 week trip in Europe in March 2020. The trip was booked and paid for in advance hotel bookings were non cancellation deals, flights, train tickets, tourist attractions etc to the value of $15'000. A pandemic clause to be found on page 68 allowed this company the ability to take the premium, provide no cover and walk away with no moral compass or consequence.

Avoid this company at all ...

Poor support and customer service during this tough time. I purchased a comprehensive policy with additional cruise cover at the end of 2019 for a cruise holiday at the end of April 2020.

As you well know, all travel and cruises were cancelled around early March and 1Cover (quite fairly) would not cover any claims related to a pandemic. I was able to recover full refunds from all airlines and the cruise line myself easily, however when it came to cancelling the insurance policy for this now non-existent holiday 1Cover refused.

Their contact center was impossible to reach after multiple attempts over weeks and a few emails, nor did they offer to refund the policy for travel that had been cancelled outside of my control, almost 2 months before the trip was even scheduled.

I originally chose 1Cover as they had the most competitively priced policy available, but I would suggest you avoid them and pay the premium for a policy with another company in order to avoid being robbed by them in the future.

Abysmal Company - Steer Cl...

I contacted them multiple times prior to my trip and they completely ignored my messages. I will be finding another provider for my next trip, as I cannot trust a provider who ignores their customers leaving them out of pocket. Really despicable company - shop elsewhere.

Awful Company to Deal With...

Absolutely no customer service. Purchased a policy September last year for travel in June which now looks very doubtful.
Emailed 1Cover 10 days ago and have followed it up twice to see if they will allow the dates to be changed or refund less the cancellation of travel portion of the premium. I sold travel insurance for close on 40 years and either of these options were both possible but it appears not with 1Cover. Take your money and forget you.
1Cover website says airlines, hotels, tour operators, cruise companies are all doing their bit by waiving fees and/or making refunds. Legally they don’t have to but they obviously have a moral compass.
Not so my insurance company

Easy to use claim online p...

Easy and fast and cared enough to include well wishes for the person who was unable to travel due to medical reasons.

1 2 3 4 5